“The Rich History of Cuartero”
Captivating Capiz (Municipality of Cuartero). Decades before the 6th century, before the spaniards came back to the Philippines, Cuartero was a dense forest inhabited by some tropical animals, bats, rodents and some man eating animals. As time went on, some members of the sumakwelan settlers happened to reach place using the river, now known as the panay river, as their means of passage. They began cutting down the big trees that paved the way for their homes. The early settlers established their settlements along the riverbanks. As other settlers came by the hundreds, the clearings were made wider. As the settlement expanded and widened, the settlers agreed to give a name to the place. The first name given was Binudhian, and then it was change to Mapang, after a creek. People from neighboring places came to settle in the place. After a while, the name was change again to Fonda, meaning founder. As years passed, the name of the place bacame CUARTERO, in honor of the Bishop of Jaro who inaugurated the church in 1890. It bacame an arabal of Dao sometime in 1973. All taxes, personal and real estate had to be paid in Dao Municipal Treasury.
For almost half of the century of concerted efforts and struggle to become an independent municipality, answer came when all required papers and documents were complecated. Manuel Funa, a noted businessman and Pascual de la Torre, a Spaniard, went to Manila to present the documents for approval. On August 23, 1938, Pres. Manuel L. Quezon approved the separation of Cuartero from Dao on Executive Order 159.
Since then, elected officials and the people, to date, worked hard in making Cuartero to what is today. Now, under the administration of Hon. Roger F. Flores and Hon. Lolito Hijosa, Cuartero is emerging as a booming and progressive municipality. Its people continue to maintain the ties among themto preserve the spirit of love, peace and unity. Cuartero was belong to Panay Island.
On November 30, 1872, Captivating Cuartero was erected as a parish. As a token of gratitude, the parishioners unanimously agreed to change the name of the settlement to Cuartero, in honor of Bishop Mariano Cuartero of Jaro. As a parish, the spiritual needs of the people were attended. Because of the cooperation of the people and their leaders, a parish church was built, likewise a convent, through the Polo System. The Old befry, which had survived several earthquakes, is a historical remain, which still stands as a monument and the mirror of our forefathers’ sacrifice.
MARKET OF CUARTERO
Known as the central trades and commercial negotiations of the town, the market place stayed with the people and the town for centuries. Now, newly constructed commercial complex are visiblein the center of the market.
The famous globe of general Esteban Contreras in a horse on top in located in the center of the Veteran’s park in the heart of the town. The globe is constructed in the honor of the heroic deeds of General Esteban Contreras when he was alive.
Cuartero is an agricultural town producing rice, corn, coconut fruits and vegetables, coffee, legumes and others. The people have massive plantations of high valued crops. The town is blessed by favorable climate, adequate water source, and suitable and fertile soil for agricultural products. The average rice production of the town can sufficiently feed the entire town’s population. athe upland areas are planted with timber and fruit trees. Majority of the people are engage in livestock production and poultry raising. Craftworks and other household industries also contribute to the economy. The abundance of raw materials.
SOCIO-ECONOMIC PARAMETERS EDUCATION, HEALTH, ELECTRIFICATION
Socio-Economic parameters education
Enrollment in the elemenrary school is steadily increasing. The town has 2 national high schools, 12 complete elementary and 8 primary schools. The present administration have distributed television and VHS sets to the schools with the aim to bring educational programs specifically sciences and the lives of our heroes to the children.
The town has one main Health Center in the Poblacion and barangays Health Stations. A physician, a dentist, a nurse several midwives and 2 sanitary inspectors man it. The town has 220 CVHWS and 21 trained hilots.
The municipality is intensifying its efforts to electrify the whole town for a better and brighter Captivating Cuartero. Now, almost all barangays availed of the services of the CAPELCO. In hand with the NAPOCOR, Cuartero is pursuing the chance to go by far in the remote and secluded areas to reach electrification.
Agdahanay festival. The Agdahanay festival is held every 13th of June in honor of the town’s patron saint, St. Anthony de Padua. It coincides with the town’s annual fiesta. This was conceptualized to give due recognition to the cuarteronhon’s hospitality. The agdahanay means inviting and accommodating others. This is the people’s way of thanksgiving to the lord for all the graces they have received the whole year. One whole week of fun, the people enjoy revelry, cultural activities and frenzied street dancing. A concelebrated mass is held, then a cultural parade follows showcasing the cultural heritage and traditions of Cuartero.
KAPISTAHAN SA KAGULANGAN
The event is held every 3rd Friday of every month. This was given attention to focus awareness on environmental concerns of the nation and to do its share in safeguarding the environment. The cuarteronhons with the municipal officials and employees take time out planting trees and cleaning the environment.
Filed under: Categorized | Tagged: CAPTIVATING CAPIZ, church belfy, Church of Cuartero, Cuartero, Cuartero Capiz, History of Cuartero | 3 Comments »